Bob Dylan played Saenger Theater, New Orleans, Louisiana – 10 November 1981

Dylan delivers a knock-out performance. The gospel material is powerful and biting without a condescending edge. The older standards are performed with a new fire and passion that includes them among the best live versions to date. Dylan stumbles on the lyrics once or twice, but adds new lines as well that more than compensate. The vocals are crisp are over the top out front and in your face. The music is tight, well mixed, and well performed.

Gotta Serve Somebody:

… the sound quality of the tape, which is in circulating and which one hopes will be released in it’s entirety to an appreciative public someday, is absolutely brilliant, and I know it’s given a number of fans a different perspective on Dylan’s 1981 performances. This is a concert to listen to for the pure joy of music.
~Paul Williams (Bob Dylan – Performing Artist2)

I totally agree with PW, this is indeed a brilliant concert. I’m happy to have “stumbled upon” some great samples from the concert on youtube.

Simple Twist Of Fate:


  1. Gotta Serve Somebody
  2. I Believe In You
  3. Like A Rolling Stone
  4. I Want You
  5. Man Gave Names To All The Animals
  6. Maggie’s Farm
  7. Girl From The North Country
  8. Ballad Of A Thin Man
  9. Heart Of Mine
  10. Simple Twist Of Fate
  11. All Along The Watchtower
  12. I’ll Be Your Baby Tonight
  13. Forever Young
  14. Gamblin’ Man (trad.)
  15. The Times They Are A-Changin’
  16. A Hard Rain’s A-Gonna Fall
  17. Watered-Down Love
  18. Shot Of Love
  19. Masters Of War
  20. Just Like A Woman
  21. Thief On The Cross
  22. Dead Man, Dead Man
  23. When You Gonna Wake Up
  24. In The Garden
  25. Blowin’ In The Wind
  26. It’s Alright, Ma (I’m Only Bleeding)
  27. It Ain’t Me, Babe
  28. Knockin’ On Heaven’s Door

Shot Of Love:


  • Bob Dylan (vocal & guitar)
  • Fred Tackett (guitar)
  • Steve Ripley (guitar)
  • Al Kooper (keyboards)
  • Tim Drummond (bass)
  • Jim Keltner (drums)
  • Arthur Rosato (drums)
  • Clydie King, Regina Havis, Madelyn Quebec (background vocals).

Thief on the Cross:

Another bootleg cover:

Let’s end with a lovely “In The Garden“:

Similar posts @ JV:


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...